What is your best material to recommend to learn VCV Rack2

Hello, people, I’m studying VCV Rack 2, Modular Synthesis, Electronics, Programming… and all the things we know are cool and necessary to learn. So: Let’s use this space to share didactic material, documentation, videos, links, etcétera.

Cheers from the jungle.

Ø

2 Likes

I recommend the video tutorials by @Omri_Cohen https://www.youtube.com/omricohen-music

5 Likes

It depends on the level of a “student”. I actually recommend watching stuff about electricity first. Bonus points if it’s about “musical electricity”, haha. Here, that’s what I mean: DIY VCO Part 1: The analog oscillator core anyone can build - YouTube

Omri’s channel is also a good source of information, but it’s really good to understand how this stuff works. For example, my first mistake with modulars (i mean emulated modulars) was when I tried to attach an envelope to my sound source, and there was one input and one output on the ADSR (it was a VST plugin Kamooka or Kamiooka or something). So I was sitting there thinking how the hell am I supposed to attach clock and sound to this. Good old days… I bet I am not the only one with this stupid story

2 Likes

My number one tip: Always have a liberal scattering of scopes in your patches so you can both hear AND SEE what is going on with signals.

9 Likes

This community has two wiki pages too - you can add to it.

Getting started with VCV Rack

Getting started with VCV Rack - Video tutorials

relevant to synthbuilding and electronics in general:

And some discords:

2 Likes

Plugin manuals

3 Likes

The book is a good resource.

1 Like

Stuff I consult frequently:

Musical Applications Of Microprocessors - Hal Chamberlin

Patch & Tweak - ed. Bjorn and Meyer (also see: http://patchandtweak.com/)

Electronic Music - Allen Strange (hard to find but worth the effort)

The Fundamental modules - When you know your way around this set you’ll be in high cotton. :slight_smile: