Set Probability of Note Playing

Hi, I’m new to VCV Rack and I need to use it for a uni assignment.

I would like to set a percentage chance of a note playing in a melody. For example, 50% chance the first note it an E 50% chance it’s a C.

Any help would be greatly appreciated, cheers!

I think there is no easy way of doing this in Rack… You might be able to set something up using Bernoulli gates to trigger different notes… don’t have a better idea right now… but:

There is this module by Aria Salvatrice, which might be right for you

What would work very well for this is a free VST called Stochas

If you want to use it with Rack you have to run it in a different DAW and send MIDI to Rack with a virtual MIDI cable, or find a solution here:

Geodesics Entropia sequencer is a good 1-module solution for this.

1 Like

The quantizers from Frozen Wasteland should do the trick as well. You can also do this with a switch that has a random trigger input and a couple of RefTone modules from BogAudio. For example, if you have a switch with 16 inputs and you connect the note C to 10 inputs, the note G to 4 inputs, and the note E to 2 inputs, there’s a higher chance that the note C will be chosen, and then the note G, and only then the note E. Does this make sense?

1 Like

As Omri mentioned, this is actually very easily done in VCV

1 Like

@ROGAVKA Totally forgot about that one, this is probably the best solution if you want a choice between 2 notes at every step

@Omri_Cohen This is a very good idea! You still need one setup like this for every step of the sequence, though, so might get complicated quickly…

@almostEric This thing seems interesting. I haven’t used it yet but as I understand it you can’t really choose specific notes for each step

sure you can. It’s a quantizer so whatever you feed into the CV is going to be the root note. Then you can set the probability of the notes surrounding it.

more flexible and powerful than any of the other methods mentioned

1 Like