Patches for beginners

I’ve been asked (again) where to start with VCV Rack. I said: copy this patch and start from there.

What’s your method and patches to explain Rack, and general modular approaches to complete beginners?

27 Likes

Looks like a good beginners patch to me Alessandro. Maybe the delay is half a step beyond that. Put it up on patchstorage?

looks like a good patch to start with :+1:

could you share it here?

I think better that share in patchstorage is just share the image, beginers will learn more patching by themselves that patch ( I m beginner and I learn much more trying to reproduce patches than downloading it ).

10 Likes

Yes, I took a pic without sharing the file on purpose. For a beginner, IMO, it’s better to try to reproduce it than having it already done. You learn a lot by doing, I guess.

6 Likes

anyway, here’s the patch. All free modules, requires JW-modules for the quantizer. simple subtractive.vcv (8.2 KB)

2 Likes

perhaps a brief explanation is missing, one of the most odds things of the modular synthesizer is (at least it was to me) what the VCA do, at that point if you are not totally clear about what the voltages do the VCA is really singular piece

2 Likes

I was pretty amazed when I first saw this noise creating melodies trick in a Omri Cohen segment of a Talking Rackhead’s video like maybe a year ago. It’s just an square lfo triggering random notes sent to a sine wave vco into reverb & out. For added fun, start turning that offset knob on the top AtNuVrTr and figure out the coolest way to modulate it.

random_melodies.vcv (4.8 KB)

10 Likes

A lovely classic s/h patch, but it can be overwhelming to a person that doesn’t know v/oct from gate. A bit intermediate, I’d say.

5 Likes