More fan on my iMac since version 1

Hi!

Sorry for not being too technical. Just a simple question, if I want too reduce the fan working on my iMac (late 2015) when using VCV, does it help if I use 4 threads and check the Real Time Priority. I feel there’s more fan going on with version 1. Is there a way to reduce that somewhat!?

There’s never any fan issues when I work in daws, Reaktor or Arturia’s Easel. With plenty of stuff going on…

It’s not like I hate the fan but sometimes my fan goes on when I just open the vcv browser with nothing putted in. Seems weird.

Thanks in advance.

I’m not a developer myself but I feel like your issue has to do with graphics rather than sound. Opening the plugin browser window means that lots of stuff needs to be rendered on screen, and this may put a heavier load on the graphics card. Is it also possible that in general, VCV Rack demands more graphical resources compared to the applications you mentioned.

Be sure to carefully read this, and try the workarounds explained there (example: set a lower framerate) if you haven’t already:

EDIT: another link - maybe more useful for non-Mac users:

1 Like

Interesting, so I need to code to decrease framerate!?

No you just have to find the settings-v1.json file on your harddisk and edit that (it’s a text file)

1 Like

Ah yes, I’ll try that tonight!

1 Like

Were is the settings.jason file? please…

it is in your Rack folder, i.e.: /Users/<your_username>/Documents/Rack/settings-v1.json

BTW, i have an iMac (Desktop) mid 2011, 2,5 GHz Intel Core i5, 16 GB 1333 MHz DDR3, AMD Radeon HD 6750M 512 MB, SSD HD and i don’t have any problem with fan :thinking:

Ah! … I have uploaded already the audios from @synthi Phoenix Synth!

1 Like

i love you bro! thanks!

You are welcome! … We are here to help each other, and this is a great community, so if I had not answered, surely someone else would have done it :stuck_out_tongue_winking_eye::pray:

1 Like