How do I actually practise this?

I really want to get into this.

So I have spent hrs skimming youtube but I find most of the videos just go waaaay too fast, I have not bought Omri Cohens courses yet but I am thinking about it as it seems to be the only way into this for a newbie.

I did just buy Syntorial as it has 2.0 coming out. (finished all the demo levels)

I do play the piano and take lessons.

How exactly would a complete novice start to learn how a generative patch is made and do it themselves, i understand this could takes months if not years like a piano.

I would prefer vcv rack as i would want my money spent on other things. (so no to modular)

But i am willing to drop a fw hundred here or there for courses and stuff.

How does someone actually practise this stuff, would you think after i finish syntorial i will be able to approach vcv rack better?

Issue is the amount of modules in vcv rack…so I have to learn and study certain modules I choose and then only work with those?

Somebody help.

While yes I did actually watch many tutorials, these tutorials are useless if you have no idea what he is actually doing…

If a YouTube tutorial is moving too fast, go to Settings:Playback speed and go Hainbach-style: Half speed.

1 Like

How to learn? That’s a study on it’s own.

The forum has text and a video link pages aimed at beginners.

Maybe this is a good start, if the videos are too fast (it’s for Rack 1.6 but still a good read):

I wish you a pleasant journey.

2 Likes

Dude, you are going to waste your money on courses and such. If you already understand piano and a bit of music theory, you are already there. Just open VCV Rack and start plugging away. What’s the worst that can happen? You can only learn what works and what doesn’t. Omri Cohen is great at explaining it, and his videos helped me, and inspired me when I started and still does. Just spend some time watching.