Getting Started with development

Hi,

I’m new here, I am a student who’s taken a fair amount of programming and Computer Science courses, I wanna make a simple oscillator plugin but I’ve never taken on a large C++ project before, I understand the basics of algorithms and programming in general and I wanna get into the DSP stuff but the math looks very daunting (I passed Calculus, I wasn’t the best at it though). Where do you recommend I start?

I wanna start as basic as can be and I’m also fairly new to github so while i see a lot of open source stuff flying around I don’t know how I would use such things in my project and I apologize for being very new to github, I have one but all I’ve really made is a GUI Weather App in Python that takes JSON data from an API, so building a rack plugin is very new territory for me but I’m very eager to learn I just feel a bit overwhelmed. I love using VCV rack to make music.

Follow this tutorial to begin learning how to create Rack plugins. https://vcvrack.com/manual/PluginDevelopmentTutorial

While calculus is required for most topics in DSP, DSP is not required to make Rack modules, especially those operating at CV-rates. Sequencers, clocks, CV processors, etc don’t need any DSP knowledge.

1 Like

I started out making modules 2 months ago knowing very little about c++ (just toying around with C many years ago) and very little Github experience (only used git for solo projects without the hub part) and I found it much less scary to start by reimplementing something that exists in a new form factor, a split & merge module, a project too simple to screw up, but still providing some value to the community (plus I later added a unique feature to it). It might be best not to start on something operating on audio rates to make it easier to diagnose weird behavior.