Could Someone Give me Advice on Developing Modules for VCV Rack?

Hello there,

I am excited to dive into module development for VCV Rack and would greatly appreciate some guidance from experienced developers here. I am relatively new to plugin development.

I have few queries in my mind related to this like;

What is the recommended development environment for creating modules? Are there any specific IDEs, compilers, or libraries that are commonly used and recommended for VCV Rack development?

Are there any best practices or recommended architectures for designing VCV Rack modules? I am particularly interested in understanding how to structure my code for efficiency and compatibility with the VCV Rack ecosystem.

What approaches do you recommend for testing and debugging modules? Are there any tools or techniques that have proven particularly useful for ensuring the reliability and stability of modules?

Also, I have taken help from this: https://community.vcvrack.com/t/getting-started-with-development/8469sap which definitely helped me out a lot.

Apart from this forum, are there any other resources or communities you would recommend for someone starting out in VCV Rack development? I’m eager to learn from others; experiences and contribute to the VCV Rack ecosystem.

I am grateful for any advice or assistance you can provide.

Thank you in advance for your time and support.

1 Like

I think most of us use very simple tools. some bash shell for building, some editor (usually Visual Studio Code) for editing. Some people go to lengths to get visual studio or c lion or some other IDE working, but I think that’s uncommon. Most of us build and debug from the command line, just like the VCV documentation suggests.

1 Like

I started here:

I develop on Windows using Notepad++ and MSYS2, and Inkscape for graphics. That’s all :sunglasses:

Notepad++, MSYS2, and Inkscape for me too.