VCV Rack f*cks up my sound interface?

I have been experiencing some problems with my sound crackling (using a Focusrite Scarlett). It seems to start with large patches in VCV Rack, but the strange thing is that it persists even after closing VCV Rack and restarting the computer. The sound crackles when playing sound from youtube and spotify (VCV Rack not even running).

I have some technical knowledge about computers, so it seems very weird to me that a program can affect the sound even when not running and after a reboot. However, I didnā€™t have this problem before I started using VCV Rack, and every time this problem appears it has started by loading a large patch in VCV Rack which as initialized the crackles (and those crackles persist when trying to play other audio)

I have ran a latency monitor and I seem to have DPC issues. VCV rack doesnā€™t come up in any way in that monitor.

Is this just a coincidence, or is there a possibility that VCV Rack somehow does something by interacting with the sound drivers or something?

I know this is a longshot, but I have been in contact with Focusrite support which cannot help me, and I am getting kind of desperate, so I am hoping someone might have had the same issue and have a solution for it.

if you used latencymon, and it shows that you have dpc issueā€™s then there is already your answer.

the problems might only have become evident after using vcv rack, they would have become evident at some other point. regardless of what software you use.

Focusrite drivers are not at all great in handling multiple applications audio all at the same time. There is an option if you are on windows for applications to take explicit control over the device, having this ticked is inherently bad most of the time.