V1 build problem

Followed instructions from https://vcvrack.com/manual/Building.html
i successfully managed to build V0.6.2c…

How can I do “build” V1?
(aiming to make plugin)
Total noob here.
Tnx

Okay managed to clone the correct directory by adding the git clone “-b v1” commands… HOWEVER where it says "Clone submodules.

git submodule update --init --recursive"

is this code correct or should it be git -b -v1 submodule update --init --recursive

??

is correct, and once you are on the v1 branch, you don’t need to specify it in the submodule update

1 Like

tnx!

There should really really be a little explanation in the build manual about how to build an unreleased version.

to build the unreleased is exactly the same as building the released one
only it’s happening in another branch

of course because it’s an unreleased and in development, sometimes the build is not perfectly fluid (that’s the scope of the unreleased path!)

but its not the same. I followed these instructions on on the website manual and ended up with version 0.6.2c

I couldnt find out how to actually build V1, so i had to ask on facebook and someone explained i needed to add -b v1 to the code… a little help box in in the manual explaining that wouldn’t go amis.

1 Like

I’m sure they will be updated when v1 is released!

the problem is everytime a new version is released the plugins devs and wanna be plugin devs (aka me now) will have to port plugins to the new version before the official release date, so building an unreleased version will create this problem every single time no?

a tiny little help box for plugins devs, especially new plugin devs like me, explaining how to build from an unreleased version would help will resolve this.

It is well documented, just not in the documentation yet!

1 Like

Where?

I thought I saw it in a doc page somewhere too.

Ive just read through the whole Rack V1 Dev blog and didn’t see any mention of this issue (unless my eyes skimmed over it.)