Tips on making VCV videos for YouTube?

I’m considering dipping my feet into video and making one. I’m imagining my “workflow” will be VCV Recorder -> Some video editor -> youtube.

Any suggestions of best practices? Esp which codecs to use through the pipeline, and output settings for you tube to get best audio quality.

Thanks!

3 Likes

I’ve been using Camtasia, because I had already bought it for doing product demos for the day job,

It is pretty slick, easy to add annotations, compile lots of video and audio into a single clip - even a direct push to Youtube and other platforms.

One HUGE downside. It can’t record system audio from ASIO drivers :confused: Looking on their site, people have been asking for this for years…

But, if you use VCV recorder, it is real easy to import the audio from that into the video you made.

My day job is influencing me to other video editors ;-). With your editor do you specify any audio encoding output settings, or is the built-in youtube preset good enough?

My day job is writing software to make people drink more beer, so… :slight_smile:

But for Camtasia, the output settings are incredibly configurable - for codex types, resolution (audio and video).

I use VCV Recorder for quick stuff that I don’t want to tweak. But, for Youtube, I use OBS and then Shotcut. My problem with VCV Rec is that it doesn’t format to YT’s desired resolution of 1920x1080. With Shotcut, I can tweak the gain and fade in/outs and it has a preset for Youtube.

2 Likes

what resolution does VCV rec output? Whatever the actual window size is?

yes. This is not a problem for YT, per se. But, it causes problems if you want to format the end tags.

What does that mean?

Those little boxes that YT can place at the end of your video to refer viewers to previous videos. An audience retention thing.

1 Like