Sequencers not running in sync after reset

Hi guys Im new to VCV. I have a patch running multiple sequencers and when i press reset they run out of sync. If I press reset a few times they will sync up but sometimes they fall out of sync. I am using one clock module (clkd) to drive all the sequencers and have connected reset out on clkd to reset in on my sequencers and then press the reset button on clocked manually.

It doesnt seem to be any one particular sequencer that is falling out of sync with the rest, all seem to fall out. I am using 8x8 and 8x16 gate sequencers from count modula, seq 3 (vcv) and Chord key from impromtu

Any ideas what is happening? Brian

I see this a lot in my extensive sequencing patches but I have not been able to tell where the problems lies. I quite often have to send a reset multiple times to get everything in sync. I also have a reset button that connects to CLOCKED and distribute the Reset out of CLOCKED to all module which have a reset input.

I suspect a subtle issue having to do with clock gates and reset and how modules handle either clock resets and/or their own resets if they have one. There are some settings in CLOCKED that you might want to experiment with, in particular, the “On Start” options.

I will be interested in hearing the results of your tests.

Hi, and welcome to the frustrating world of syncing up sequencers. :grinning:.

The best is to experiment with each one to see what works. I think the count modula ones work like a trigger buffer, only resetting on the next clock after the reset is sent. Where as the VCV / bogaudio ones are immediate I think. The impromptu sequencers work well with clocked (obviously).

Alot has got to do with the cable delay time between the clock and the reset trigger, one of them has to come first.

If I have a relatively simple sequence, I like to send a reset trigger periodically (say every 4 bars), rather than a once off reset, to keep things in check.

1 Like