(question) Click/Pops When Connecting Audio Cables

(This might be common knowledge but I’m a beginner)

Does anyone know if Rack is supposed to make a popping sound when clicking on/moving a cable that actively has audio running through it? For example, if I have a VCO going straight to my audio-8 module and I switch the oscillator type from sine to triangle, a loud popping sound will occur the moment I click on the cable. The same thing happens when clicking on the cable at the other end. The pop also occurs if audio is being played back and I close VCV Rack.

edit: I’m on Windows btw and here’s a video of what’s happening: VCV Rack Pops/Clicks Example - YouTube

I’m using an external audio interface (ssl 2+) and have the sample rates matched at 48 kHz. Block size is currently 512, threads set to 8. I’m using a discrete graphics card. The problem occurs whether I’m using ASIO or WASAPI

I’m wondering if this is just a feature, as I can’t find an example online of someone switching the audio cable before turning down the VCA volume first. Do I just have to do that every time if I want to avoid the clicks/pops?

I would say it’s not uncommon. I don’t think the audio module has any particular anti-pop measures implemented, those things are implemented in e.g. the good mixers. So yeah, just something to be aware of, just like when plugging/unplugging cables into physical amps and speakers.

A tip. Keep threads set to 1 until you need more CPU, then increase to 2 etc. There is an overhead to multithreading so don’t use it unless / until you need to.

4 Likes

I’m not sure this is what you are experiencing, but when I click on an output port, the signal is cut until I release the mouse click. This can introduce some popping, even though this behavior seems to be designed to prevent pops, perhaps. This seems to be default behavior in Rack V2, at least for me with Windows.