Question about selecting signal paths

Hi all, first post on the forum, and total noob when it comes to VCV Rack, so go easy with me!

I’m trying to create system which will create random chords, and then

• play them as a one chord
  • play them through arpeggiator, one note at a time
  • ignores the chord, and plays…silence

If two or more chords are played consecutively, I would like to have gates without breaks.

Probably not the best solution, but I manged to create those gates, without gaps, with LFO and square wave. Chords are also done, with the help of sample & hold + quantizer + Dawn Bree’s Notepad module. Playing chords one note at a time is also ready, with the help of Omri Cohen video about Creating Arpeggions in Modular: ended up using Amalgamated Harmonics Chord Arp.

And finally the question: how do I select different signal paths? I’m a software engineer, so my brain is saying that I need a module where I can output A or B input if the input C is…something. I have tried to scan the library but so far I haven’t found anything suitable.

Any suggestions? Or is my approach completely wrong?

Cheers -k

The general answer to making one signal take different paths is the sequential switch. There are a few good ones in VCV. The basic design is you set the number of paths you need and a trigger changes the switch, some send 1 signal to many places or vice versa. For something like moving the chord CV, it may enough to send the cv to both locations all the time and switch the gate signals. All depends on your exact needs for your patch.

1 Like

The library of free modules has several options. You can find them e.g. by selecting the tag ‘Switch’:

If you want to switch routing based on an input CV, this could be one of them:
1 Like