Probabalistic music

Newbie here! I understand synthesis but haven’t got to grips with the modules yet.

Here’s what I’d like to do. Perhaps you can tell me if it’s possible in VCV and, if so, what modules I should eb using.

Set a root key, let’s say Cmaj. Play C chord Put C in Probability generator./dice machine This gives a % chance of what the next chord will be. Eg, 40% chance it’s F, 40% chance it’s G and 20% it’s Am Play the chord Back to the generator so, eg, from the Am there’s a 30% of F, 20% of Dm, 20% of G, 20% of Em, 10%of C

and so on…

Is something like this possible in VCV?

I’ve struggled to find modules that dso the % calculation and play pre-programmed chords.

Would very much appreciate any advixe.

Thank you, Ian

Perhaps this ?

see also this thread

I found this article, for a Jupyter notebook example of a Markov chain generated chord progression:

Markov Chain for music generation by Alexander Osipenko in @TDataScience Markov Chain for music generation | by Alexander Osipenko | Towards Data Science

2 Likes

I’m also curious if there’s a way to set up probabilistic choices between 3 or 4 options. With two options, you can use a Bernoulli gate. You can chain these together, but this is not the same as setting a probability between 3 or 4 options.

1 Like

I can’t think of any obvious way of doing it imediately but if you get desparate then Prototype lets you write you’re own module in a variety of scripting languages. Actually, looking at it the above mentioned Markov Chain sequencer is the most likely candidate.

1 Like

Just some thoughts…

It might be worth looking at computerscare I Love Cookies, it could get you part of the way.

An expression like this will give you input A 40% of the time, input B 40% and input C 20% {AAAABBBBCC}

And it has multiple expressions. You would need to work out how to switch between them, using switch based on what value was used last?