MIDI keyboard / controller

Hi guys!

I’m new to VCV Rack and I’m looking for a master keyboard / controller
which can be used to contol various settings of VCV modules like sequencer run/reset,
clock speed, VCF parameters, etc.

Are there any sugestions especially for the german market with a prize up to max. 200€?
Any known incompatibilities or pitfalls?

Thanks in advance!

In your price range, Beatstep pro works well, in control mode you have 16 knobs per midi chan.
same for the trigger. So 264 knobs and triggers
Works fine for me.

only one I’d avoid is the akai mpk series. and if you want actual nice keys, I’d avoid the korg nanokey studio as well.

that said, the nanokey is my daily driver, so your mileage may vary.

I’ve heard great things about the nektar impact range. kinda want one:

compatibility with midi devices is generally excellent just works with no setup. the roli music box thing has some limitations but still works well. really it’s down to your preferences

Hi mate!

First of all, if you’re looking for sequencing VCV Rack with MIDI, something like with the BeatStep, you can face the problem of latency, unless you have a really strong computer. Usually, you will have to raise the block size to build “normal” sized patches, which means that you will have latency big enough to create sync issues.
If you’re looking to control some parameters with knobs and faders, and maybe also use a keyboard to enter notes and such, then I really recommend the Nektar Impact LX series. I got the 88 keys version, and it’s now for 250 Euros by Thomann. You can easily take a smaller version, which will be even cheaper of course, but I cannot say how the keys action is on the smaller versions…
If you looks for example at the LX49+ version, you got knobs, faders, pads, and some nice features all for 139 Euros. I have to say, I got much more than I expacted for this price range with the 88 keys, but again, I don’t know how the keys feel in the smaller versions.
Cheers!