Life, ants and Brain. Just tossing an idea!

Hello Rackheadz! This is a out-of-the-canon topic, I guess. PREAMBLE: I am not a programmer, not even a bit. I cannot work on it. Damn. This is just the offer of an idea.

I have seen a lot of nice plugins that generate casual or pseudocasual impulses and I have a lot of fun with them. Some of them are even pleasant to watch!

Now, yesterday evening I was playing with an Android app that replicates the Conway’s game of “LIFE” (Conway's Game of Life - Wikipedia) as well as other cellular automata like Langton’s ant (Langton's ant - Wikipedia), Brian’s Brain (Brian's Brain - Wikipedia) and so forth.

And I had the idea you already know by now: why not apply these automata to VCV?

The concept is really not new nor difficult, as far as I have seen: a toroidal square grid (Torus - Wikipedia) of a given dimension where cells can live, move, breed and die accordingly to the rules choosen: Conway, Langton, Brian or whatever.

The impulses can be driven in a way like NYSTHI BOH!NGLER does but:

1. the grid must be a torus (it can be a plane as well but a torus is way much cooler and let the cells live indefinitely AND produce indefinite sounds)
  2. the grid must be a little bit bigger than the BOH!NGLER…

I don’t really know how BOH!NGLER works so I am just poking in the dark but:

1. moving cells can produce impulse, accordingly to their X,Y positions
  2. the death of a cell COULD (or could not, not really sure about) produce a sound
  3. the birth of a cell produce a sound, both because of its birth and accordingly to its positions

A lot of CAs (Cellular Automata) also uses colors to underline the generations: a generation is the state of the whole system after a certain amount of time: what cells are alive, what are dead, what have moved and what are in a stable system. Cells of generation #7 will be differently colored from cells of generations #1. Colors are used also just for aesthetic purposes, why not?