Is it possible to create an emulator with which we can use V1 plugins in V2?

Hey you programmers, as a simple Linux user, I am enthusiastic about the possibility of using emulators to run Windows programs on my computer. The question arises whether something like this is not also possible in VCV rack. So an emulator with which you can use V1 plugins in V2. stoermelder has shown with its modules that the possibilities that VCV-Rack has from the start can certainly be expanded with modules. As I said, I’m not a programmer, but I myself converted a few plugins from V1 to V2 that needed little revision, so I can imagine that you can also use an emulator for this.

Actually we don’t know if it is possible … but see this thread Wrapper VCV plugin for V2 that can host VCV plugins made for V1.6?

1 Like

Or, partially parse source code and translate to V2? Don’t know which way will be harder but I think emulators are not the right way to go when porting is not hard.

Just offhand it sounds really hard? a plugin can pretty much call into VCV Rack with impunity. Sure there are things that “aren’t supported” that a lot of us did… Of course anything is possible, but it sounds to me like a project that the very least would take hundreds of person-hours.

Emulating different things always sounds tempting. But one aspect must always be kept in mind: In most cases, an emulation requires the installation of a rather large overhead.

And in the area of VCV Rack, this could mean a slowdown in performance.

Not to be despised is also the immense effort until the thing runs stable and does not lead to the mother program, here VCV Rack, being torn down.

These are just a few thoughts.

1 Like