How To Start Out?

Hi everyone! I do not wish to sound lazy or rude, but, I am new to Modular Synthesis and VCV Rack and so I was wondering if any of you knew a good way to start out and learn. Also, if you could recommend some tutorials that would be great. If not, do not worry. Thank you for your time. Have a great day and stay safe.

4 Likes

hello and welcome

Have a look to the VCV manual and OMRI’s tutorial but also VCV Rack Ideas and more. It’s a good start and you will see, easy

have fun

2 Likes
2 Likes

Thank you for your advice @spontex.merlin, I will check out the VCV Manual now.

Thank you for your time.

Please see the Beginners guide to VCV Rack.

Edit: Also, if you are totally new, take some time to understand the template patch that is loaded the first time you run Rack. Unplug things, plug them back in again. Tweak some knobs, see what happens. You can’t break anything, so mess around.

1 Like

Omri Cohen’s channel has a few beginner series patches that are really nice for starting out :slight_smile:

Another channel i would recommend is https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC6KKEoBfUAL8xMCSd1DamsA/videos

There haven’t been new posts for a while, but since the patches are small, they should be easily reproducable and understandable :smile:

If you have any questions don’t hesitate to ask ! we all were beginners at some point :wink:

Have a good one, and enjoy playing with VCV :slight_smile:

1 Like

Heed this advice by The Creator: “I personally recommend that you attempt to push the Fundamental modules to their limits before moving on to other official or third-party plugins.” The amount of free third-party plugins is overwhelming. You may get lost in them.

3 Likes

As one of the many third party module makers, I agree. You can learn a majority of what you need with just the fundamental modules. These modules are also pretty clear in their functions and less quirky than some. You can do a ton with these modules and learn a huge amount.

1 Like