How to emulate a piano in vcv rack and then link it into a granular modular?

I have a roland f 30px and I want to emulate it or at least something close to it in vcv rack, ive searched everywhere and I have no clue to do it. I am new to vcv rack and yes I have watched a few tutorials but I have got nowhere. I understand that are 3 things I can do, play it through a emulation, play samples or get a behringer umc202 to get the sounds from my actual electric piano onto the laptop. I would rather not resort to the last option due to how much it costs and it seems unnecessary.

Did you try to send the sounds/midi via usb-cable to the laptop?

imho the FP-30x should be able to do it.

maybe this helps:

see this one at 3:30 and 12:45:

There are several great free sets of piano samples in SFZ format that play well in SFZ player vcv module.

2 Likes

That first video’s title is inaccurate. It’s not recording audio – it’s recording MIDI.

You can use your Roland as a MIDI controller in Rack over USB to the VCV MIDI-CV module. I use my Roland FP 30x this way. You can also record MIDI on a thumb drive and get the file on your computer then import it with one of the modules that can read MIDI files (Squinky’s Seq++ and others). For more info on MIDI file sin Rack see How to import MIDI files into VCV Rack? - Plugins & Modules - VCV Community

If you want the actual Roland audio in Rack (or DAW), you do need to use an audio interface to sample the audio.

1 Like

well, in the second vid at 13:30 he is saying that you can have audio in/out via the usb cable,( may need a driver tho, as he says). But I don’t own the FP-30x …

From the user guide.
I would write their support and ask for an ASIO driver. (assuming Windows OS)

I can find no ASIO driver on the Roland site (just a system firmware update).