Getting a Strumming Effect

I’m using Chords module and I’d like to delay the outputs from 2,3 and 4 to create a strumming effect. Are there any modules that I can use to get this effect?

1 Like

Nysthi Strummer is specifically designed for that.

2 Likes

Tried Strummer but can’t figure it out. I have the outputs going to individual osciallators and have a clock input into the Strum Time input. But the outputs aren’t firing off.

What I really want is for the Chords module to come first and output the notes where Strummer then delays the notes to create a strum effect.

I must be missing something.

That sets the amount of time the strum takes. You need to put the clock into the orange input below “strum global”. Also remember that the length of the gate that you use as a clock delays the subsequent notes in the strum.

Making progress but now output 2 is just a sustained note. It’s not firing new notes after output 1 fires.

I’m new at this for sure. Here’s my simple patch so far if you could spot something obvious that I’m doing wrong. Thanks!

Hi Ned, I tried a sample approach at the thing, using a rig of plucks from Macro Oscillators (Braids), driven by Chords and Strummer. Hope it can help. But sorry for the lean C/G/F progression, it’s only a didascalic sketch.
Chords+Strummer.vcv (30.2 KB)

1 Like

This is great. Thanks so much. I’m unpacking it now. It’s the exact strumming effect I was trying to do. :slight_smile:

1 Like

the outputs from strummer are triggers not pitch so they need to go into the gate input. Strummer does not determine pitch.

and you need an AR after, not an ADSR (various nysthi envelope generators)