Community component repo?

randomly there are requests for certain component svg’s and that got me to thinking maybe there could be a vcv community repo with alternative components to the grayscale library or component elements that arent in the grayscale library like recently voxglitch @clone45 requested waveform svg’s. devs could make a request here and members of the community would be able to make and submit the files to the repo or members could contribute components or component groups for use in future development projects. might be nice to have a component library with a bunch of different components in various styles for devs to browse.

im not a coder but i can do graphics so it could be a way for non coders to still contribute to development.

9 Likes

That’s a cool idea. I make a lot of modules, but I buy, borrow and re-use graphics when I can.

1 Like

@persy

I :heart: this idea!! I’ve been a web developer in the past, so if you need anything built I’d be happy to contribute some time, depending on the complexity. This seems like something that might make a good addition to the vcv rack website, such as :assets.vcvrack.com. :control_knobs:

2 Likes

I would be happy to contribute too I m not graphic designer but I can draw , I have this parts under CC-0, I used for a 3d timelapse and I will be happy id it is added to a repo, I can do more graphics under requested if needed

3 Likes

@Vortico what would be the best way to go about implementing a community repo like this?

@Squinky @clone45 @David nice to hear you guys like the idea.

i just got affinity designer for ios on my ipad pro and have been making components just to learn the app and see what it can do. pretty impressed with it so far. it seems to be the same as the desktop version and its pretty nice to use it with the apple pencil. its like having illustrator and a drawing tablet for a fraction of the price. i’d definitely get inspired to make more components if this community repo is created.