Can the release of an adsr influence a clock (bug) ?

I was trying some sequencers, and I just noticed that when I set the adsr release to zero, the clock beat goes down. I don’t know exactly how much but it can be divided by two. I tried with two clocks and all the sequencers you see in the picture and the behaviour is the same. Is this a bug, or normal behaviour? If so can someone explain what is going on?

I’ll show you a screenshot in case I do something wrong (beginner here)

I’m not sure what you mean by ‘beat goes down’ or ‘divided by to’. But…the ADSR does not affect the clock. It’s a one way street from clock, via sequencer to ADSR. I assume you are referring to the total envelope time?

Most sequencers just ‘forward’ the incoming clockpulse (some can generate a gate of fixed or variable length on an incoming trigger, or even generate multiple triggers/pulses for each clock pulse).

A very short clockpulse might then trigger the Attack (here, set to minimimum), might not even reach Decay/Sustain, and will then fall back during Release (here, also set to minimum).

Depending on pulsewidth (of the clock pulse) and the minimum Attack and Release times, this might generate a very short envelope.

Then the amp would also open and close real quick. Might just produce a bit of a click, if clockpulse is short, and envelope and amp are fast enough.

Seems to be a bug of the vcv ADSR module as it’s not happen with befaco or Instruo ADSR.

The tempo really slows down. On the picture you can see that the tempo is 120, but when the release is zero the tempo drops to about 60 (it still shows 120). And if the release is very low it’s about 90. very strange. But in the meantime I tried with other ADSRs and it’s ok. It really looks like a bug

Thanks anyway to try help :slight_smile:

I tried to reproduce your patch. With the ADSR release set to 1ms (I’m assuming that’s what you mean by zero?), I still get clicks at 120bpm… Perhaps you could upload your patch?