Best mouse for VCV?

As someone who (lamentably) eschewed computer music for a long time, I’m really not used to worrying about RSI, but the more I scroll up and down the “rack” on VCV as well as Reason, Ableton… The more my index finger hurts.

I thought I would get used to it, like callouses when I started playing double bass, but apparently it’s a repetitive stress injury that will only get worse.

Any suggestions from my favorite community??

Thanks for taking the time, J

2 Likes

Maybe if you feel discomfort with your mouse, the solution might not be another mouse, but another mousepad :slight_smile: . Are you familiar with theses padded mousepads people have in offices ? To avoid wrist injuries ? I think they also give a more comfortable position. I’m also pretty sure they are less costly than a new mouse, so it might be something to try !

Also, althought i’m not familiar with it, vertical mice are a thing, and some people really like them, that could also be something to try

1 Like

I use one - it makes my mouse much more comfortable to use:

1 Like

Thanks for the pic ! That’s exactly what i was referring to :blush: . My mom has one but it stayed at her office so i didn’t have one to show.

Yeah, I used to use those a lot. Haven’t felt the need for the last decade. But I have switched to using the MS “natural” (wavy) keyboard exclusively. don’t know if that’s why no wrist pain or just a coinincidence.

Also - a lot of people who don’t get on with mice like trackballs.

I’ve used Logitech MX Master mice for a decade or more and love them - both for day job designing and having fun with audio.

Logitech MX Master here as well. Slightly angled, very good battery life even after >5 years of daily usage, very ergonomic positioning of buttons and the possibility to pair it with different PCs and switch between them via a button on the underside.

I haven’t had a mouse for about 15 years and the RSI I began to develop has completely disappeared. Trackpads.