Behringer RD8 running as Master

Hello friends!

I’ve been working on the VCV rack for a few weeks, it’s my first post here in the forum. I’m just a beginner. Now I would like to synchronize my RD8 with VCV Rack and use RD8 as a master. I have no problems with the audio signal, it works as it should. Only I can’t get the Midi clock into the rack. Maybe someone has a tip as to what might be the cause.

Best wishes Roman

on the midi-cv I have tried all channels

Hi and welcome.
I don’t have an RD-8 but I guess you need to connect it by USB to your computer as the MIDI-CV module lists no „RD-8“ device.

Also, please note, MIDI clock does not have a channel, it is a global message.

From the looks of things, you might need to use the mode buttons on Clocked to put it in BPM Sync mode (any of the Px modes should work, where x is the number of clock pulses per quarter note); by default, Clocked is in BPM CV mode, where it accepts a CV to determine its BPM (instead of clock pulses).

I played through the different modes. The problem is, as Ben says, the RD8 is not listed in the device. I know why.

Of course I also connected the RD8 to the computer via USB. The patch is okay except that the RD8 is not listed in the device. So is it a problem with the RD8 or the computer? Correct?

1 Like

Did you try restarting Rack? I noticed sometimes newly connected MIDI devices are not listed until restart. Is the RD-8 available in any other application as MIDI device?

For clock you have to set the sync mode on the RD, according to the manual( 3.1.5: https://media63.music-group.com/media/PLM/data/docs/P0DG5/RD-8_M_EN.pdf

Perhaps you have to do something else to set midi (4.3)

I just looked at your screenshot again. I think you need the CV-Midi module not the midi-CV you selected.

The way you connected it you get a clock from your Behringer audio interfaces clock to Clocked‘s BPM input. Which I don‘t think you want.