Ableton 12 + VCV vst - v/oct snaps to C3 when transport stopped

Hi all,

I’m new to VCV, but a quick learner. Pretty familiar with Ableton. I have a problem that I cannot seem to find the cause. It relates to VCV Rack Pro VST.

If I hit play on the transport, and there is a note other than C3 (0 volts) in a MIDI clip (in Ableton clip or arrange view), either VCV or Ableton brings it back to C3 the moment the transport stops. In addition to hearing this, while monitoring the voltage of V/OCT - this is viewable:

If I play a MIDI note using my MIDI keyboard, instead of using the MIDI clip, there is no issue.

I tested it on Bitwig and Reaper- no issues. However, other vst synths do not have this issue in Ableton. So I’m not sure if it’s an Ableton thing, or a vcv thing.

It looks like there was a post about this, but it went dead a year ago, and had no resolution marked. Any ideas? I tried VCV Rack 2.4.1 and 2.5.1 - no difference.

The issue is not a critical one, just an annoyance.

Thanks.

Windows 10, VCV 2 vst, Ableton 12

1 Like

First thing, is ableton sends a C3, but if it results in 0volts, that oscillator will output C4, because there is already that disconnect in what is expected in VCV and output in Ableton, known issue, it is related to how midi is used in DAWS. Other than that, I would expect the source, being Ableton is the issue. It is being generated in the midi module connecting the DAW and VST. Yes this VST will behave differently than most, it is not optimized for Ableton and is not always at its best behaved in Ableton. OTOH, if your gate is closed, I suspect it not a real issue.

1 Like

Like I said earlier, more of an annoyance. I appreciate the response. Thanks!