XSIMD

Hi everyone.

I am relatively new to audio dsp and coding in general. I’ve been developing a simple diode clipper using chowdsp_wdf for quite a while now.

I am at the point where the only thing left (I hope) is to optimise the module for polyphony and I’ve been trying to implement XSIMD (encouraged by chowdsp_wdf) unsuccessfully.

Long story short: Are there any open-source VCV plugins implementing XSIMD instead of Rack’s own SIMD? If there are not any, could someone here with experience help me with the basics?

Look at the source code for any of the vcv modules. Most use SIMD.

I know Rack has got its own implementation of simd and it is the only one I’ve seen used in fundamentals and bunch of other plugins. I explicitly referred to XSIMD library, which has its own implementation and is not compatible (at least directly) with rack’s implementation. The chowdsp_wdf library is optimised for XSIMD, that’s why I want to use it instead of what is used in fundamentals.

I’d assume that if anybody’s using XSIMD in Rack (or would know how to set it up), it’s @jatinchowdhury18 himself… Haven’t checked his Rack plugin to see if it’s XSIMD or not but that might be a good start.

I don’t use xsimd but I also don’t use rack simd and have no problem. It’s entirely possible to do cross platform simd using the simde library which is included with rack or just compiling a program which has a mix of Intel and neon instructions.

So while not exactly helpful and I agree look at jatins module is good advice all these things are just wrappers around the simd instruction sets so nothing compels you to use rack simd (or any wrapper for that matter. Lots of the code in surge is just hand coded sse)

Probably the makefile is the hardest part

I was responding to your last question. I do know that you want to use xsimd, but you also asked for help if that’s not possible. We are on the same page here, yes?