Which Mac would be recommended for using Rack

Hey everyone, that’s my first post and I’m an absolute newbie with VCV. I’m working with Ableton for a while now and some drum machines/ synths. Switched back to Ableton after some DAWless experiments but my budget is simply too low to buy all the elements to make it really diversified and interesting.

My MacBook 12" (early 2016, 1,1 GHz Dual-Core Intel Core m3), which I primarily bought for university/ work, is running into heavy performance issues once I start working with VCV or Multi-track projects in Ableton Live. Since its almost 5 years old now, I was wondering which devices are generally recommended by the community. I saw many posts that were mentioning MBPs having performance issues as well, is that still the case with 2020 models?!

Also, Apple is about to launch the new silicone processors this/next year, which are independent from Intel and AMD. While they sound almost too good to be true performance and energy-usage wise, I fear that those do not support all the software I’d like to use and work with.

Anyone got some helpful input here for me? I’d prefer a Mac since I prefer the OS but when those issues are common with all devices out of the upper high-end range I might consider switching to something else.

Thanks a lot!

The main problems with MBPs is heat. A similarly priced iMac will generally perform much better if portability is not critical.

While the new Apple processors certainly sound interesting and promise a lot, based on previous experience I would never buy into the first generation of a totally new processor/architecture - there are practically guaranteed to be issues and being an early adopter will probably be a painful experience. Wait until at least Rev 2 and possibly Rev 3 - so that’s maybe 3 years away.

I just bought a 2020 8 core 27" iMac and it runs VCV very well.

3 Likes

Hi Steve,