What does wikipedia say is a "computer programmer"?

Hello. My name is Lars and I’m a programmer :slight_smile: Where I live, and in the organisations I’ve worked in for the past many years, they usually refer to us as ‘developers’.

1 Like

My official job role title changed recently to Senior Applications Development Officer which I suspect was done just to create the acronym SADO. :frowning:

3 Likes

Did the ‘officer’ part make you straighten your back a bit more? :grin: How old is a ‘senior’ these days?

Old enough to have bad lower back pains if I straighten up. Officer comes with the territory as it’s a local government (council) thing.

When I started writing C code for a living (1989), I made my title, “I, Programmer”. Somewhere in the past thirty plus years, the norm here in the Bay Area became “Software Engineer”, which at first sounded stuffy and self-important to my ear, but I eventually grew into, although my business cards still said things like “SVP of Avoiding Responsibility”. Now in certain circles here you can just say SWE (pronounced “swee”) and get knowing looks.

For 13 years, my title was “Systems Engineer” in my industrial role. That was a good title since my work always involved software and hardware. For the next 6 years, I called myself a “Game Engine Developer”. Then I was a “3D Animation Programmer”. Then I was a "3D Animator’. Eventually, I ended my working careers as “Director”. But, I’ve really always done R&D. Titles are strange. I call myself a physicist, but academics do not agree since I only have an M.Sc. in physics rather than a PhD. I have absolutely no education in computer “programming” as when I was in college, that meant punching mainframe cards and carrying a box of them over to the mainframe on campus and getting back a thick stack of paper a few hours later. I did a lot of that. FORTRAN!

1 Like

I’ve had a few.