What are best practices for distributing fonts?

I’ve seen some discussion about fonts, and how they may legally be re-distributed in a VCV module. But all the issues are not entirely clear to me.

We seem to have an expert here in the form of @dreamer , but I don’t think @dreamer has every told us what a good or best practice would be.

I’m not being facetious when I say I would be interested to learn more about this. So is anyone willing to explain this topic?

2 Likes

I’m not an expert at all haha. Just seem to be more aware with all the distributable issues than most, apparently.

The issue is not just with fonts of course, but with any file you take from a different source and include into your project. Be it fonts, graphics, code. Without proper licensing (and “public domain” also counts here!) it just makes everything much more difficult in the long run.

In the case of fonts the best/easiest is to use fonts with the Open Font License, as it gives full freedom to modify and distribute the font files → SIL Open Font License - Wikipedia

Other licenses that are used by some fonts:

• Bitstream-Vera (the OG before OFL was formalized)
  • CC0-1.0 (essentially “public domain”)
  • Apache-2.0 (well known opensource license)
  • Ubuntu Font License (based on OFL)
  • custom licenses that still allow free usage and distribution

If you can’t find any license for the font you want to include be wary that you likely do not have any rights to use or distribute it.

oh, cool. good info TX!

I have a license to use Proxima Nova, but not to distribute it. So I convert my text to paths when building the SVGs. If I needed the fonts at runtime, I think I’d have to either switch fonts (which I tried once, and failed to find anything I like) or renegotiate the license.

distributed fonts are required if you have a display panel on your module, like an LED or LCD display. not needed for the usual lables on panels