Very basic question from absolute beginner

Hi,

New user here :wink:

So I have just got the very basics of module building going and have my very first module that just applies the setting of a “Gain” knob to the input and sets this at the output (so the very most basic attenuator). The process() function in this is easy as it’s just getVoltage, multiply, setVoltage.

Thankfully that all works though I did have an issue using helper.py as the SVG must have the same name as the Slug. If you use “createmodule foo res/bar.svg …” then the svg::load() is for foo.svg not bar.svg - but I guess this is quickly obvious when no background loads!

Anyway I’m now considering a simple oscillator. So, while I haven’t seen it written down anywhere, I get that if the sample rate is set to 44.1kHz then process() is going to get called 44,100 times per second.

So say you want to play international A at 440Hz as a sine you need to fit 440 cycles of that into one second so you will have 100 calls to process() for each cycle (well roughly, actually 44,100 / 440) so you have to map that to a 0 to 360 (or rather -pi to +pi) range. So does that mean you’ll always need to use args.sampleTime in your calculation of where in the wave you are? I guess the problem I’m having getting my brain around this is exactly how do you map the the value from args to an input you pass to sine?

Or say you are programming a sawtooth. I believe the output voltage range is bipolar in the range -5V to +5V (or is it 0V … 10V?) so would you, in this example be ramping from one limit (0 or -5) to the other (10 or +5) over those same 100 steps?