VCV Sequential Switch 1: Basic "Four on the floor" beats

I use the VCV Sequential Switch 1 (SS-1) to create a simple and regular beat, so commonly used in techno and other dance music styles. Imagine a classic grid of 16 steps, with a kick drum on steps 1/5/9/13, and a hat on steps 3/7/11/15: Tun-z / Tun-z / Tun-z / Tun-z

• plug into the SS-1’s “CLK” input a 4x clock signal, and into the “IN” input a 2x clock signal (in the attached picture that means respectively 480 and 240 BPM)
  • set the “2:3:4” switch to “4” (as in the picture)
  • plug the “1st step” output to your kick drum gate in, and the “3rd step” output to your hat gate in

I’m using the Impromptu Clocked clock here, but any other clock division approach should work.

I’m a newbie and I got to this approach by random attempts, so I welcome comments, corrections and alternatives.

6 Likes

Well, yeah. You could just use a sequencer. For example GateSeq64 (also Impromptu) is very nice for drums/percussions.

2 Likes

I agree with the last comment :slight_smile: for Drums, i always either :

• do like you did, with divided / multiplied clocks
  • use a gate sequencer (just like the last comment said)
  • or i also use euclidian sequencing ( but that will not work for a 4 on the floor…)

Also, i have a nice technique for making drum fills using bernoulli gate, i can teach you that if you ask me :wink:

2 Likes

Hey folks, thanks for these suggestions but I’d like to limit this thread to the described 4/4 beat/rhythm and related very basic solutions…

1 Like

How’s this :

4 Likes

If you’re already using Clocked, you can set another output with a delay and use it for the hats. So you have one clock for kick and another one for hats, which is delayed so you will get this pattern.

3 Likes

With a logic gate is easy to make a offbeat hat.

Send a clock to the kick. The same clock goes to a NOT gate and then to the hat.

5 Likes