VCV Rack and mouse/keyboard event recorder

(Beginner here, and probably a Windows-only question) Is it possible or workable to record mouse and keyboard events in the VCV Rack window and then play them back successfully to the same exact patch to replay a session? Similar to what can be done for MIDI events? A VCV Rack utility module would be best, and maybe cross-platform as well, but I haven’t found one.

Barring a module with this functionality, I know there are Windows programs that are claimed to be able to do this; I think Microsoft even includes a macro recording program for this. But obviously precise timing of the record and playback would be important, as well as resolution. Has this been tried? If so, with any success?

Even if the timing weren’t accurate, it seems like it would be useful for capturing cabling, which knob is turned when and by how much, what buttons were pressed, etc. Seems like it could be useful just to have a record of the sequence and magnitude of events.

I only found one thread related here from 2019 but I didn’t see anything definitive. tia…

Edit, added: I looked over the API a little bit, and seeing the classes dealing with events, etc., I realized there’s an event history of some kind that allows the actions to be undone/redone via the Edit drop down, so it would seem that a module might be possible, don’t know how much is exposed to the API tho…

It’s technically possible, but would be a huge effort for a limited audience and benefit. Making such a recording edutable would be even more challenging. Without an editable result you might as well just record the performance as a video.

2 Likes