VCV Port of Befaco Percall

Hi,

I saw a video on the Befaco Percall and thought it’d be a neat module to learn about VCV development / DSP etc. It’s a four channel envelope based mixer, great for generating percussive sounds.

I’ve forked the Befaco repo and added it there - if @Vortico is open to pull requests, I’d love to see it go into the library but if not (or if there are licensing issues etc), it will still have been a fun learning exercise. I’ve also only managed a windows build so far though I’m afraid.

This is my first time doing any DSP so any comments welcome. In particular I don’t have access to the hardware (yet, would be a fun module to pick up), so any input, e.g. on calibration of the envelopes would also be useful.

Brief demo video (no sound for the first bit!):

15 Likes

Well done, that would be a great addition to VCV Rack, I thought I had gone deaf until you put sound on for the last minute or so. Let’s hope Vortico allows this to be added to the library. Thanks for doing this.

Great work Hemmer thank you!

I’ll PM you a link to a Mac build I did which you can add to your repository.

I did get a build warning about deprecation so I’ll send you the terminal log of that as well.

2 Likes

Built for Linux this morning, no problems beyond some deprecation warnings. Untested yet but the build was easy.

I can supply a Linux dist build if you want.

Best regards,

dp

3 Likes

Thanks for the help with the builds, I’ve pushed a commit that fixes those deprecation warnings up.

Just be carful to stay within the term spelled out in the manual:

VCV Plugin Ethics Guidelines

You may not clone the brand name, model name, logo, panel design, or layout of components (knobs, ports, switches, etc) of an existing hardware or software product without permission from its owner, regardless of whether these are covered under trademark/copyright law.