Totally blind electronic musician, looking for developers to help with a project to make VCV rack accessible to totally blind users

Hi everyone, hope you’re doing well and staying safe, I’m trey and I’m a totally blind electronic musician from the UK. For quite some time, now, myself and other blind musicians have been interested in using VCV rack. I know that it is open source though I do not know what programming language the user interface is written in. Or how much of the API is open source. I have no coding experience whatsoever though I do have previous software testing experience. I have some ideas as to how an accessibility solution for VCV rack maybe implemented. I am looking for coders volunteers to help me come and work on this project to make VCV rack accessible to blind users. If anybody is interested in helping with this project or knows anybody, that may be able to help please comment here or message me. This Post is being posted on both the forum and the sub Reddit. Thank you for taking the time to read this post, and I look forward to collaborating with you all respect and blessings, Trey.

6 Likes

Welcome to the forum, Trey! There are many infinitely more capable and experienced Rack coders than I am floating around here, but I have a fair degree of knowledge of the codebase and have written some interface-modifying modules that work well for me (nothing I’ve released, though I hope to someday, but stuff I’m actively using for music-making). This project sounds great. I’m passionately convinced that accessible interfaces are important both (obviously) for their own sake and because proper accessibility often yields tremendous and sometimes surprising benefits for all users (the curb cut effect is very, very real!)