The Monkees & The Moog

Hi all! I’m pretty new to modular synthesis but I’ve always been fascinated by it ever since I was a young kid watching The Monkees. I’m primarily a singer/songwriter with a strong Monkees influence. But what a gigantic world of music I was missing before I found VCV Rack. What a great community here too.

Anyways. As some of you may know, The Monkees were one of the first groups to use a Moog on a pop record in 1967. Apparently this was the first Model III with portable cabinets. I was wondering if anyone has built something in VCV Rack like these first Moog synths that Micky Dolenz played?

Paul Beaver was asked to play the Moog part on this tune from the same LP, btw.

~Kyle

2 Likes

Additionally, in the Mac App Store, there’s a Moog Model 15 for $29.99. Would that probably be the most accurate virtual re-creation of Micky’s Moog?

I have no idea how authentic, but the Model 15 app is a hell of a lot of fun, as is Moog’s other instrument app, the Animoog. That said, they are very much simplified versions and you won’t get anything like the number of modules to play with and patch as you would in the real thing.

One plugin version of a Moog I play with from time to time is by Arturia, named the Modular V

It isn’t identical to the Moog Synthesizer III you are talking about, but unsurprisingly seems to share a lot of the same layout.

Recreating Moogs and other synths in VCV Rack seems to be pretty popular. There was a video this week for a Mother 32 recreation and there’s even a cheap set of Subharmonicon style modules in the store now.

2 Likes

Hi! Thanks for the reply! I’ll probably have to grab this. It looks pretty cool and just about all that I could afford at the moment. I have the iPad MiniMoog V app and I can get lost with that thing for a while. The Arturia plugin is a beast. I’d love to be able to get something like that, but it’s a bit out of my price range at the moment.