Student discount

Hi guys, been using vcv for the last 2/3 years during college. Been anticipating it finally being usable a vst. Does anyone know if there is any sort of student discount available. Sent vcv an email but awaiting a reply. Obviously 150£ is steep for a uni student

2 Likes

pretty sure there is no student option available but fortunately the non vst version is free.

And the VST version, while useful, isn’t essential. I bought the Rack2 Pro version and still mostly use it standalone, because for me personally, the compositional tools of a DAW feel less intuitive and fluid by comparison. You may not feel that way but if you can’t afford the Pro version give the standalone a chance. Or cut back on eating out for a few weeks and buy it.

I don’t know you so I’m not casting aspersions but I was a poor student too, and if you think hard about how you spend your money, and you may be surprised how quickly you can save 150£. A Nando’s with sides is 13£!

5 Likes

this is still an alternative, though not a replacement GitHub - DISTRHO/Cardinal: Virtual modular synthesizer plugin

those nados with sides sees great

also you could connect your favorite DAW to the Rack free, Via Jack on Linux, I personally find that workflow better than the vst

reaper and re-route works nicely, I hear.

1 Like

Yep - that is what I use, even after buying the VCV Pro.

1 Like

Same here, but as I am on Mac, I use an aggregated sound device consisting of my focusrite hardware and blackhole for internal audio-routing. Afaik Reaper Rewire is Windows only (maybe Linux?). It works like a charm for me and I hardly ever try time-syncing Reaper and VCV as Reaper is often just a recorder and monitor-mixer and host for other VSTs. Cheers, dDom

By “other VSTs” I assume you mean effects plugins. If you were using instrument VST plugins than I suspect you would want to sync VCV with Reaper.

Did you mean ReaRoute? Think it’s Windows only.

but that’s what most VCV users use.