static constexpr on rack::simd::float_4?

hi,

i’d like to set static constexpr rack::simd::float_4 v10 = 10.0f; instead of const rack::simd::float_4 v10 = 10.0f;, but it seems i can’t (expression must have a constant value compiler’s hit).

why? how can i do it?

thanks

You might want to try it like this:

static const rack::simd::float_4 v10(10.0f);

does this work?

float_4 v10 = {10.f};

(put the initializer in curly braces)

Yes,

static const rack::simd::float_4 v10 = {10.0f};

works also. By “works” I mean it compiles, I’m assuming that it correctly assigns the value to all 4 floats in both cases, but I didn’t test it.

Just offhand, I think I remember once Andrew mentioning it might not be good to initialize with the curly braces for values other that 0.0; do you remember if this was true, or just my memory having some corrupt bits?

Yeah, I do remember that. I think maybe it’s for arrays, that if you just put one in there it won’t go to all of them. I’m new to the curly braces (learned it at work), but i think what it does is make a constexpr, and then pass it to the constructor of the object. Since float_4 has a special constructor that takes a single float and spreads all the values around it works.

I think float x[4] = { 10.f } will only initialize x[0].

got the same hit message:

if that’s true, this should be avoid so :open_mouth: :slight_smile:

Ah, yes, I think he said it’s best to initialize arrays with empty braces {}

you have to use const, not constexpr I think

now, I don’t know if you can do this:

std::vector x = { 4, 10.f};

@q8fuel marc means you need to use:

static const rack::simd::float_4 constexpr isn’t legal on the declaration part (I don’t think). If it’s not clear yet, I’m no expert on this stuff :wink:

In order to declare a type like this as constexpr, the constructor that you call must also be declared constexpr, which in this case it isn’t (and probably can’t be because of what it does internally).