Splice (free unlimited cloud storage) & VCV Rack

Hey all,

I’ve been using Splice to back up my Ableton projects for over 5 years with their unlimited free cloud storage, and it’s been a very reliable way to archive projects since it backs up all project dependencies. It’s also got its own version control and you can go back to older projects if needed.

This would be crucial for the longevity of VCV Rack in my opinion, as development continues older projects may break and we’d be able to see what version of VCV Rack and its associated third party modules are at and revert to that version. It would be sad to not be able to open projects in 5 years time, which actually is happening to my projects right now.

A question for the community and the devs, do you think this would be a possibility in the future as VCV Rack continues to grow? Maybe a partnership with Splice can come out of this. Maybe it’ll be a great way for VCV Rack to monetize as well since they have a “rent to own” plugin store. What do you guys think?

You’re talking about three completely orthogonal topics here: A server where you can upload your personal patches, patch backward compatibility, and the third-party service Splice.

For uploading personal patches to a hard drive in a data center, you can use Google Drive or Dropbox. They both support file versioning.

If you experience a breaking patch, post a bug report by following https://vcvrack.com/manual/Issues. All Rack patches made since Rack v1, and some made while Rack was in beta, will load in all future versions of Rack. If it does not, it is a bug you should report.