Selection import no warning on missing modules

Hi , I’m new to VCV (just started to use it 3 days ago … haven’t sleep much since ) . So I just get 400 presets saved as Selection from Omri Cohen’s Patreon page When I first tried them the vast majority was just not working . I get very confused at first but then realized that the import selection was loading the selection without the missing module(s) and without giving any warning that module(s) were missing . I think it’s very confusing as you never know if a selection is missing or not a module (if you didn’t create the selection yourself) and when it does you don’t know which one is missing . I figure out that I could just transform .vcvs on .vcv and open it as a patch to find out if I missing module or not but (not very practical with a large number of file to process ) . Is it possible to have the import selection function acting like the open patch function and show a warning dialog box for missing modules ?

Thanks for your help.

Olivier.

(Vcv rack pro 2.4.1 macOS Arm64 - Ventura 13.6.3)

AFAIK There’s no option to turn that on.

These load failures probably show up in the log. If you have a text editor that supports live reload, like vscode, you could have the log file open and watch the log as you’re going through importing the selections.

Good bug/suggestion to send to support@vcvrack.com.

Just an aside, Omri showcases module collections, and his knowledge and use of modules from across the library is likely unsurpassed. As such, your best bet is probably to download everything if you are interested in following his patches.

That said, even then, you will likely have missing stuff if you use the ARM version of VCV, which is missing modules that Omri sometimes uses, such as Instruo’s (Omri is on Windows). You may be better off using the Rosetta build if you intend to study his patches while learning VCV.

1 Like