Seeking feedback on "Looper" module

Hello - I wanted share my first Rack plugin called Lilac Loop. For now it includes a single module named Looper, a “simple multi-track looper with a pedal-like workflow”. It allows you to record, play and overdub a mono or polyphonic signal using a multi-function “toggle” control (analogous to a foot switch on a looper pedal).

I wanted to share it here before submitting to the VCV Library. I’m relatively new to Rack and C/C++ so any feedback would be appreciated. The README doc is the closest thing I have to a manual. The builds linked below are also attached to the v1.0.0 release on Github.

Thanks for reading. I hope you’ll try it!

Edit: it’s in the VCV Library now https://library.vcvrack.com/LilacLoop

9 Likes

I have some idea on sending “hold” like function - gate more than 2 seconds to re-record whole loop, would be useful when connecting sustain pedal to control the beast. Your idea is nice, ableton looper has some similar functionality too!

1 Like

Hi, welcome and congrats for your plugin! Prepare to be inundated with requests :slight_smile: I built it in Windows and it’s running smoothly, low CPU and nice compact package. My first thought it that there might be room to perhaps considering making it stereo, I think many people would appreciate this. Cheers!

2 Likes

hi Gavin and welcome,

@disquiet, as it is polyphonic stereo looping should be easy:

from the Readme:

Stereo and Multi-channel Recording

Although Looper works in mono by default, it’s capable of recording up to 16 tracks at once thanks to VCV Rack’s polyphonic cables. To record a multi-channel loop, connect a polyphonic cable to the input and toggle Record mode. Each polyphony voice will record to a dedicated internal channel and play back on the corresponding output channel. Use VCV’s Merge and Split modules to manage polyphony.

To record in stereo, simply use voices 1 & 2 of a polyphonic signal.

3 Likes