Resizing SVGKnobs without adding new SVGs

I’m new to both VCV Rack plugin development and programming in C++. I’d like to quickly resize my knobs when using addparam(createParamCentered<KnobStruct>(...)), though I haven’t found any way that works. I’d rather not have to add different SVGs for every size I’d like to use and then keep defining structs to load them in. Please give me any ideas or workarounds.

You basically have a couple of options

1. Add SVGs and make a little throwaway class for each size you want.
  2. Dont’ use SVGs at all; paint in a frame buffer using code; make the size a template argument
  3. There’s probably a third option where you use a TransformWidget containing a knob and set it up but that’s not a single template argument.

Surge uses a mix of 1 and 2 (we have 30 odd svgs for our knobs pointers and skins and draw the rings). Airwindows and BaconPlugs uses the second. I have not used the third but i bet it could work with some poking.

2 Likes

Another option:

I implemented a simple svg theming library that manipulates the in-memory representation of the SVG: svg_theme: Lean in-memory SVG theming for VCV Rack plugins.. This currently manipulates only colors and gradients, and doesn’t do anything with scaling or coordinates.

You could use the same techniques used in my library to take a custom SVG with a named top-level 1:1 scaling transform and change the dimensions and modify the transform in-place. I think that’s do-able, and would be a great contribution to the svg_theme library.

The drawback of scaling such as using a TransformWidget is that it can end up not looking very good in some zoom levels or in the browser. Highest quality will be with an SVG designed for the size, or custom-draw widget.

But… the methods the other Paul mentions are easier to implement.