Recommended Premium Modules for basic synthesis.

It seems like you can’t (or can you?) demo modules before you buy, so I’m wondering what modules people recommend. I’m not looking for Turing machine odysseys, I’m more interested in building “Frankensynths.” Think of Diva, without the limitations. What would a Model D sound like if it’s third oscillator was a wavetable oscillator and it had 4 envelopes? Someone recommended the Vult modules, and I’m totally loving them so far. More of that!

Auch a common belief - that the paid modules are better than the free ones. Glad every day that I stopped making (free) modules for VCV.

2 Likes

Well, I don’t necessarily think this, but I am a software developer (games) and I believe in paying for what I use. I won’t disregard something that’s great and free, but I don’t mind spreading the love when I have a bit of cash in my bank.

oh, it’s not you, it’s a very common opinion here.

Other than Vult, and there’s very little essential extra in the paid bundle, I’d only recommend one or two as must haves. For me that would be MindMeld Shapemaster Pro

and the Slime Child Substation bundle.

I also use the Oxidlab filters a lot, but there are many, many good free filters.

If you are using the free standalone version then I’d also add in VCV Host so you can use VST plugins for instruments or effects.

2 Likes

If i had money to buy something, I’d buy the Vult stuff and the fancy VCV reverb and then donated the rest to the developers of free stuff, I think. There’s a “donation” thingy in the menu of some free modules. So you can pay for what you use if you want to.

2 Likes

Yeah, I find that in software, price mostly has very little bearing on quality.

I’m not :pensive:

Many of the plugins have a donate option.

3 Likes

It’s not necessarily untrue though, some are better than free ones.