Plugin development on Mac M1

I have some experience developing plugins for VCV Rack on Windows. After recently purchasing an M1 Mac, I would like to be able to develop plugins on that machine as well. For example, I would like to be able to build the Fundamental modules from source.

When I cd into the repo and run make, I get

clang: error: the clang compiler does not support '-march=nocona'

As far as I understand, this is because the $(CXX) commands in the makefile call g++, and g++ --version gives

Configured with: --prefix=/Library/Developer/CommandLineTools/usr --with-gxx-include-dir=/Library/Developer/CommandLineTools/SDKs/MacOSX.sdk/usr/include/c++/4.2.1 Apple clang version 12.0.0 (clang-1200.0.32.29) Target: arm64-apple-darwin20.3.0 Thread model: posix

The compiler is targeting arm64, so obviously there will be problems, because Rack is an x86_64 program running through Rosetta2.

What can I change in the makefile to get clang to build x86_64 libraries rather than arm64?

maybe this post and the following ones can help you:

In your terminal run:

arch -x86_64 /bin/bash

source1 source2

Now everything that runs in that terminal runs under Rosetta2 and thinks it’s running on intel. See how that works for the compiler…

3 Likes

@rsmus7 @LarsBjerregaard Thank you both for your help. It was sufficient to set up a Rosetta terminal as per source1, and run arch -x86_64 make, and the plugin builds.

Something else I tried was using a separate x86 homebrew installation per this article, and installing gcc separate under this homebrew. For example the native homebrew is /usr/opt/homebrew and the x86 homebrew is /usr/local/homebrew. I added the x86 homebrew to the path and changed CC and CXX to x86_64-apple-darwin20-gcc-10 and x86_64-apple-darwin20-g++-10 respectively, but when I try to build like this I get an error,

x86_64-apple-darwin20-g++-10: error: unrecognized command-line option '-stdlib=libc++'