Pass mouse actions to 2 completely overlapping SliderKnobs?

I wonder if it’s possible to have 2 completely overlapping (spatially congruent) SliderKnobs with the following behavior:

• one knob responds only to vertical mouse dragging, the other only to horizontal dragging
  • all mouse actions are passed to both SliderKnobs, so that one will adjust its associated parameter on vertical dragging, while the other will adjust its parameter on horizontal dragging
  • context: an LFO-generating module with a display of the LFO signal, such that dragging on the display vertically should adjust offset, while dragging horizontally should adjust scale of the signal

I’m a newbie so answers showing as much code as possible will be highly appreciated.

I’ve scraped as much knowledge as I could from the Rack API, from existing code by other module developers and from Leonardo Gabrielli’s book “Developing virtual synthesizers with VCV rack”. I’ve managed to make the knobs and place them on top of each other, either as silbings or parent-child widgets. Then I tried to adapt the OnMouseDrag() function, but no matter what I do, any mouse actions are only ever handled by the top one of the two widgets.

Thanks

I don’t know the Rack api.

Maybe you can use some of the code in this module ?

1 Like

This is likely because one of the widgets is “consuming” the event, so it is no longer available by the other widget. Take a look at OpaqueWidget::onDragHover, from which the Knob class derives. The lines of code like e.Consume(this) indicate that the event has been claimed and will be ignored by other children of the parent widget.

Making it do what you want should be possible, but it will take some careful study of the code, and you may have to define a subclass of Knob and redefine the behavior of onDragHover and possibly other functions too.

Something like this

for (auto it = children.rbegin(); it != children.rend(); it++) {
			// Stop propagation if requested