pachde Imagine - New "sound from image" module

I’m just starting out with building modules for Rack, and I wanted share my early ideas for a module I’ve named imagine.

“pachde” is my brand, formed from the first two letters of my given, middle, and family names. Pronounced “patched” or “patch dee”, hence the logo: #d, because # looks to me like a patch on clothing.

This module loads an image (you know, a png or jpg), and lets you set up one or more read heads. Each read head generates control signals – gate, trigger, and v/oct. I’m leaving direct audio generation to other modules. You can think of it as an eccentric sequencer, rather than an oscillator.

Sketch of the UI

Controls in reading order

• The blue area displays the image you’ve selected.
  • The circle with crosshairs suggests the read head. (graphic here likely to change – I need to think about how to set initial position.
  • There is room for this set of inputs and outputs to show 3 read heads.
  • Buttons+inputs for Reset (go back to starting position) and Play/Pause.
  • Click the “mountain and moon” icon to Open an image file.

Then, three rows for read heads. Number may vary in final module. Additional read heads may be possible with a future extension module. (Possibly a premium plugin, if I decide to go that route). To keep the UI uncluttered, this prototype hides unused read heads behind panels. Double click the “gripper” to remove the read head cover. Read heads with cables, and the first read head can’t be covered. Might be too cute an idea and more than needed for MVP.

I’ve read the debates about screws vs no screws. I lean to no screws to reduce the visual noise, but I understand people want it to look like something physical like you might see in a EuroRack, so I’ve taken a middle position and put nice caps on my screws. I might even make it possible to remove the caps and show the screws in all their slotted glory for the die-hards who like screws. Binary menu options are simple.