Objective way to measure VCV Rack performance? (acceptable on Mac)

I am a relative beginner with VCV, but have already run into what I believe are hardware limitations on my current setup. Most of Omri Cohen’s demos stutter. I’ve set frame rate to 10Hz, limit the number of threads, marked Rack to open in Low Resolution Mode. Those settings help, but I’m still limited to very simple patches.

I see screenshots of monster patches that I have no hope of replicating on my setup. I might consider buying new hardware, but am reluctant to spend too much on fancy hardware only to find that it’s still not enough for Rack.

I’ve scoured the forums looking for hardware advice – but don’t see anything objective. I’m on a 16G 2.7GHz i5 Macbook Pro (and I’m aware that laptops with integrated graphics are not recommended). Yet I’ve seen forum posts of other mac laptop users claiming good performance, but “good” is probably subjective (how many modules in the patch? What frame rates? In my ideal world, I’ll be able to run large VCV patches on a mac since that will integrate with my Logic Pro based workflow better as I get more ambitious with my patches. I gather that Windows machines with “gaming” GPUs are probably a better bet, but everything else I’m doing music/audio-wise is on the mac, so would really like to find a way to run VCV on macos.

But how beefy of a mac is necessary? Is a 2015 iMac with RADEON GPU “good enough”? (and again, how best to quantify “good enough”?)

1 Like

Maybe you find some tips here Mac/PC Optimization Guides | Sweetwater

1 Like

You should consider using @diimdeep 's fork of Rack which has real time priority audio for Mac.

I also found it helpful to set a very large block size. I am using 2,048.

I am producing stutter free sounds on an 2-core i3 with no dedicated gpu while filling four rows of Rack with modules to fill a widescreen monitor.

2 Likes