Need help with Meander; follow chord progression from external melody

hello, i love this module but to dive into and create some own ideas is not the easy way :slight_smile: perhaps the reason for this is “i am a newbie here”. my simple problem: i want to let meanders chord progressions follow my melody from a midi keyboard, or sequencer or anything else. the chords should be in harmony with the melody note. every time i play a note, the chord progression should go a step forward. Not clocked!

is it possible? here is my current patch.

meander test.vcv (2.4 KB)

any ideas? Karl

1 Like

Hello Karl. I am the Meander developer. Meander probably cannot do exactly what you want, but there are a couple of things you can play around with. Both the circle of 5ths “degrees” I-VII and the melodic intervals 1-7th can be sent from your MIDI keyboard. Send the keyboard v/oct to the inner circle “In 1V/DEG” input or the melody section “1V/DEG” input. Send the keyboard gate signal to the inner circle “In -GATE” or to the melody section “GATE” input. When you play the white keys on the keyboard, the 7 keys in an octave are interpreted such that C=I, D=II,…, B=VII for the harmony chords or C=1st, D=2nd, …, B=7th for a melody note.

The actual representation is via an octal radix “decimal” voltage as DEGREE.OCTAVE .

This is not what you want to do, but, these two control formats are the only thing that Meander supports.

You may want to try some of the melody harmonizer modules made by other developers. Someone else can probably point you to the harmonizers as I have forgotten which ones I was working with recently. If no one else chimes in here, I will try to remember which harmonizer I last worked with.

I’m glad you like my Meander module.

Ken

I noticed after replying that you are already using Meander’s melodic interval (degree) octal radix control.

Here is the harmonizer topic that may be of interest to you.

Here is the specific harmonizer I was thinking of: