Mixing two signals with a single knob using PatchMaster and XFADE

Hello,

I am new to the modular world and this community, so I apologize if this is a silly question.

I am looking for a way to mix two audio signals using a single knob with PatchMaster (I have a limited number of midi knobs and thought two, one for each channel, was excessive).

The behavior I am after:

When PatchMaster knob is at 0 signal A is at 100 and signal B is at 0 When PatchMaster knob is at 50 signal A is at 100 and signal B is at 100 When PatchMaster knob is at 100 signal A is at 0 and signal B is at 100 With smooth CV in between

My original thought was to just map the PatchMaster knob to both channels but invert one so the signals were evenly mixed when the control knob was halfway. But this made it so the evenly mixed signal was quieter than either extreme. I thought about also mapping the mix level to compensate, but quickly realized I would need some kind of bell-curve shape to make that work and got stuck.

I finally came up with a solution that produced the behavior that I wanted using comparators and signal multiplication, but it seems incredibly bulky. I have to imagine there is a better way to do this.

rareairbikeco_single_knob_two_sided_mixer_issue.vcv (2.1 KB)

So, if anyone can think of a better solution, or point me in the direction of something that could help me achieve this with less modules, let me know!

Thank you very much!

Hi @rareairbikeco , and welcome to the forum!

I think your solution is ingenious :slight_smile:

If I understand correctly, you basically want a crossfader that does a unity mix (A+B) in the center and cuts to either full A or full B on either side. I’m not in front of Rack right now but if I recall correctly you might try Bogaudio XFADE with Shape in the fully clockwise position (^) and the LIN button (probably) off for audio–is that what you’re after?

2 Likes