Midi controller for VCV?

I’m new to VCV Rack, new to MIDI, new to everything basically. I enjoy playing about but it isn’t a big part of my life but I really fancy a controller/keyboard just to give a little bit of extra flexibility and usability. I’ve been looking at a controller and had looked at M-Audio Oxygene Pro Mini, the Akai Pro MPK mini MkIII, and even the Arturia Keystep 37. I don’t mind a learning curve but I don’t want a world of pain so I’d like a controller that I plug in and it works with VCV plus I will probably run Reaper as a DAW as no way would I get the value from the big money DAWs. With this in mind I’m open to recommendations - basically easy to use and cost effective are what I’m after. So, I’d be very grateful indeed for any suggestions from those of you with way more expertise in this area than me.

Hey welcome to VCV and Midi Philip!

The thing about midi is and always has been two main drawbacks: latency and compatibility or ease of usage. but in the world of synthesizers it’s not unique. But what VCV really benefits from is a controller that allows the user to define it’s properties from within in midi interfaces firmware. Basically, odds are you’re going to want a custom layout to suit your control method and you’re going to want an easy to navigate workflow for the set up.

once you have your gear programmed to send and receive the kinds of signals you want you really don’t have to touch the settings much as they’re held within the midi controllers software.

For example: Say you have a button on your keyboard controller that toggles between the off position and the on position but you need a momentary button press. well you would open up your software and make the changes in your controller to change the button style to what you want.