Looking for Tutor in VCV Rack Coding

My idea:

• occasional video calls when I get stuck
  • conditions can be negotiated, incl. payment
  • my background is in the natural sciences, I’m experienced in coding for statistics & data science, but no systematic C++ knowledge
  • current state: i’ve successfully coded a module generating LFO signals. and my memory sucks.

Nyquist Nyquist frequency - Wikipedia and some small amount of DSP knowledge would be good to revise.

EDIT: Also Linux/Mac/Windows? x86_64 or arm64? It’s kind of not that important, but for using the same code base, and screen sharing for some applications it might be. It really depends on what you want to build. I mean for tutorials, “it works here” might not be a good enough explanation.

If you don’t mind some alias distortion (80s synth digital phizzle), Nyquist is not that important. Are you looking to create graphical masterpieces as well as audio interest modules? Maybe a stats module to generate in distribution noise might be a good first module. Twist the voltage distribution knob, dial in the change event sigma knob (and maybe its Poisson et al kind switch). And a tick clock …

https://chat.openai.com/chat

Unironically.

1 Like

Not Rack, but Chat GPT has written quite a lot of pretty good custom php for me over the last few weeks. Takes some careful prompting and nurturing, and it seems very forgetful and absent-minded sometimes, but the whole experience has been quite sci-fi. I feel a bit like Iron Man talking to the AI in his suit.

1 Like

Like some random ideas I’ve though about but won’t do yet or ever (the creative blast):

1. A 7*7 chess board with no kings, and the taken pieces get replaced to try to win but never (output is triggers). GPL could even “steal” the 1K+ chess C masterpiece with a hash table killer move thing. Toledo Nanochess and Toledo Picochess.
  2. Experiments in remapping division NaN and Inf. (Sonic qualitatives).